Junior Year: Fall Semester Begins

July is long gone, and August is following closely behind it. That means I’ve been back in the States for well over three months. It definitely doesn’t feel like I’ve already been back longer than I was gone.

As I previously mentioned, I spent the summer living in Clinton with a friend and working at MC. Elementary Spanish ended with the month of July, so up to this point August has just been a month of working. Fall semester started this week, though, so my life is about to get interesting again.

I’ve been back living the old dorm, cafeteria food, packed schedule life for almost a full week now, and I’m loving it. I’m really excited to be surrounded by all my friends again. It’s been too long since all I had to do was go for a short walk to hang out with my friends. I’m also excited because I’m taking a lot of fun courses this semester.

In some ways, starting junior year feels a lot the same as starting sophomore year felt. Quite a lot has changed since then, though. This year, I have a boyfriend, a new roommate – a friend I went to London with – and a brand new haircut!


A lot can happen in a week when you’re in college. I feel like I’m already settling into the rhythm of my new schedule, and it’s barely even started. I’ve managed to spend time with a bunch of my friends over the course of a few short days. Of course, I know the busyness of this week was nothing compared to what most of the weeks of this semester will be like. In just a few weeks, rush will begin, and those of us in the “clubs” and “tribes” at MC will be dedicating most our time to the freshmen joining our ranks.

One thing I’ve learned in college is the importance of just doing what you want to do. You can’t always wait until you have extra time because that extra time may never come. Sometimes you have to just roll with the punches and do something spontaneous and adventurous without planning out the specifics ahead of time. For example, my roommate and I decided to go out and get chalk today so we could decorate outside our door because we knew we might not have a chance once the semester heats up. That’s a pretty mild example, I know, but you get the idea.


To make a long story short, I’ve got a lot to be thankful for and a lot to look forward to. I feel like I’m constantly watching myself grow and change as a person, and I’m really excited to discover what that means for the upcoming months. I can’t wait to see who I’ll be by the year’s end.

Reply

