Writer’s Blog

School has been in session for nearly 2 months now, and it’s been longer than ever since I wrote a blog post. For that I apologize, but I won’t beat myself up about it too much because I’ve been busy. Each day starts at 9 or 9:30 am and doesn’t end until 7 or 8 pm, and that’s just when I get back to my room at night. I work 20 total works per week across my 2 on-campus jobs, and I’m taking 16 hours of classes. Finding enough time beyond that to get all my homework done keeps me on my toes.

I’m having a blast, though, and I wouldn’t change things for the world. It feels great to be back in the middle of on-campus life with fun little adventures to take part in left and right. Lovely fall weather is finally here, my classes are all going well, and I’m starting to feel like a writer again. It’s taken awhile, but I think I’m finally ready to overcome the persistent writer’s block that’s been hindering me for the last couple of years. So in spite of being busy all the time, I’m going to dedicate more time to blogging. It’s about time I say something.

This is a resolution. From now on, this blog is going to be a real outlet for my creativity. It’s going to be a real place where I put my gift to use. I don’t know if God made me a great writer or even a good writer, but I know He made me a writer.

Let’s start over, shall we?

Hello, world. My name is Kelsie, and I’m passionate about a lot of things. Most of all, though, I’m passionate about words. I recently tweeted for the National Day on Writing (#NDOW #WhyIWrite) that I write because words are the most powerful tool humans have, and I wholeheartedly believe that’s true. The words we use are so important.

Just a few words have the power to change so much, from whether a person is having a bad day to whether a day is going to go down in history. Because I know how significant words can be, and also just because I love them so much, I started a blog in January. At first, I just used it to document the events of my life, which at that time involved the London Semester and a bunch of exciting other-side-of-the-world happenings. But since I got back to the States, I’ve been feeling like I ought to be using it for more.

Sometimes it’s really scary that I know I’m called to write but have no idea what I’m called to write. Sometimes it’s scary enough to keep me from writing anything at all. But I’m tired of being scared. I’m bigger than writer’s block. More importantly, God’s bigger than writer’s block. Scared or not, I’m resolving right now to trust in His calling and put my fingers to the keys even when I don’t know what to say.

Reply

